top of page
Music theory


music theory


RCM music theory


RCM music theory




Instructor - Andrew James Clark -

Level Five Theory 


Level Five RCM Theory covers scales up to four sharps and flats, major minor and perfect intervals, rests inn simple meter and the three primary triads. For most students, level five is the first theory course they take and the course is taught with the assumption that you will continue studying RCM theory up to level eight. You cannot succeed in the course without completing the homework assignments. Music History and Italian Terms are not covered in this video course, but will be required on your exam. If you are not a pianist, you will have to acquaint yourself with the bass clef on your own time. Remember, if you refuse to memorize your key signatures, you will fail your exam.

Level Six Theory


Level six theory intensifies the concepts learned in level five. Knowledge and memorization of all key signatures is now required, including those that utilize double sharps and double flats. Rests must now be grouped in all compound meters, and augmented and diminished intervals will be present in analytical exercises. In addition to the three primary triads, chords will now additionally be built on the supertonic, mediant, and submediant. History lessons and terms are not covered in the online course. Remember to memorize your key signatures.  

Level Seven Theory

Level seven theory includes the addition of symmetrical and non-traditional scales. Students will be required to invert intervals, accommodate double dotted notes, and compose contrasting periods. Students will expand their harmonic vocabulary by working extensively with all varieties of chords available within a key signature, including augmented chords, diminished chords and leading tone diminished seventh chords. The roman numeral system will now accommodate inversions, providing students with the basic chord labels  in preparation for level nine harmony. History and terms will not be covered in the online video course. 

Level Eight Theory

Level eight theory includes the addition of C clefs, modes, engraving, compound intervals and hybrid meter. Students must be able to identify chords and intervals rapidly in order to succeed. Students will be asked to identify non-tertian sonorities such as quartal, cluster and poly chords. Chorale style cadences are also included as an early introduction to level 9 Harmony procedures. 

bottom of page